To Blog or Not to Blog… or: A Blog By Any Other Name…

What is a blog? That is the question that I have been asking myself over the past couple of weeks, and – seeing as how I have a blog – I thought it would be most fitting if I searched for an answer to that question! Well, the simple dictionary definition goes something like this:

  • blog /blɔg, blɒg/ [blawg, blog] , verb, blogged, blog·ging. a Web site containing the writer’s or group of writers’ own experiences, observations, opinions, etc., and often having images and links to other Web sites.

There are a number of different blogs that I read, and the topics vary from writing (http://insidethewriter.wordpress.com/) and parenthood (http://somerandommother.blogspot.ca/) to leadership (www.perrynoble.com/) and several Christian/faith based blogs like http://ilifejourney.wordpress.com/.

I have two blogs myself – this one, and http://thebeausejourpulpit.wordpress.com/. My other blog is a place where I post portions of some of the books that I have written. But this blog, New Life, is still trying to figure out what it is.

This is my personal blog. It is where I want to share with you thoughts, stories and experiences from my life. For instance, I am 39 years old (I turn 40 in July), have been married for seventeen years, and have four amazing children. See the pic below:

Left to Right: (back) my daughter Tori, my wife Liza, me, my son Caleb, (front): my daughter Hannah and my son Austin.

In addition to my family, I am a pastor, and have been involved in full time Christian ministry for almost 20 years. Because of this, several of the posts on this blog will be sermon outlines of messages that I have shared with our church family, with links to the audio message that can be listened to online or downloaded.

Finally, I love to write. And I love to read. And laugh. And encourage others. And drink coffee. Lots of coffee…

Is there a right way or a wrong way to blog? I don’t think so. I think that a blog can be as unique as the individual. Some blogs contain prose, others poetry, still others photos, comic strips or video links and clips. What you will find on my blog will be an amalgam of all of those things and more.

To the regular followers I now have, and the others who stop by from time to time to check out this blog, I bid you welcome, and pray that you will be blessed, encouraged, inspired, and perhaps even challenged by some of what you read here!

Please, feel free to give me some feedback on what you would like to read and see on this blog… New Life!

Chris Jordan

About Chris Jordan

Husband. Father. Author. Pastor. Guidance Counsellor. High School Teacher. Follower of Jesus. And I enjoy a good cup of coffee!
This entry was posted in blog and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to To Blog or Not to Blog… or: A Blog By Any Other Name…

  1. I like this post! Very transparent and inviting, which I think is what people are looking for. Have a blessed day!

  2. Rick Alvey says:

    Nice post Chris and thanks for the mention! I thank God for the opportunity that blogging allows us to share the journey of following hard after Jesus. It keeps me connected to His kingdom work going on beyond the boundaries of my own community. Blessings!

  3. Pingback: My Top 10 Favourite Posts on New Life – The First Six Months | New Life

  4. Pingback: My Top 10 Personal Favourite Posts on New Life – 2013 | New Life

Leave a Reply

