2012 Mission Trip to Costa Rica

Making a Difference in Costa Rica:

(today’s blog is an article that was published today in one of our local newspapers…)

In July of 2012, Beausejour Community Church is sending its third annual mission team on a trip to Costa Rica. Burdened with a desire to serve the poor and the needy, fourteen team members from Beausejour will be leaving behind their comfortable homes in Canada for ten days this summer. This year’s team is made up of six teenagers and eight adults, and will be led by Liza Jordan, Pastor Chris’s wife. The team will be once again partnering together with Canadian missionaries John and Debbie Overholt, ministering in some of the poorest communities of the Guanacaste Province.

During last year’s mission trip, the team noticed that many of the children did not own their own pair of shoes, and this is what motivated them to begin their Crocs for Costa Rica campaign. They are looking for people to donate new crocs (not the brand name, just the style of shoe) to reach their goal of taking 300 pairs with them on their trip.

Another way you can support the team is by attending their huge indoor garage sale at the Community Church at 748 Park Ave. on Fri. April 27th and Sat. April 28th from 9:00 am – 3:00 pm. You can contact the church office at 268-9950 for more info, or if you have any items that you would be willing to donate to this great cause.

Finally, you can also support the team is by attending their upcoming Praise Concert, scheduled for Friday, May 11th at 7:00 pm at Beausejour Community Church. The admission fee for this musical event is only $2 a ticket, with all proceeds going towards the mission trip. They are planning on using these funds to purchase basic food staples such as beans and rice to go door to door and bless families in poor neighbourhoods. They also plan on helping to do some much-needed renovations to one of the young churches in Filadelphia.

If you are a local business and are interested in helping out with corporate sponsorship, all of which is tax-deductible, please contact the church office as soon as possible, Thank you in advance for your support!

Team Member’s Testimonies:

Janet Trudeau, BCC’s mission’s coordinator, says, “I strongly believe in serving our local community, and volunteer many hours with our young people. Being part of the team last year, I was humbled and amazed by the entire experience including the months spent preparing. A trip of this magnitude changes the lives of those who go, at least as much as those we serve in Costa Rica.  It is a privilege to be able to help our youth experience the world around them in such a positive, meaningful way.”

Middle-school student Tori Jordan, the daughter of the pastor, says, “I want to go to Costa Rica because I want to be a blessing to the people there. From this trip I am expecting to get closer with God and also the rest of the team. I am also hoping that it will help me to get the courage to pray for people out loud, because I know that’s one of the things expected of me there.”

High school student Sonja Huege says, “I am going to Costa Rica because I am so thankful to God for all that he has done for me, and I’d like to give something back to Him in my time and efforts. I also want to go because I believe it is His will, and want to follow the great commission.” 

Another high school student, Phil Gut, says, “The reason I want to go to Costa Rica is because I want to see how good I have it here, and I want to see what other parts of the world are like compared to Canada. What I expect from the trip is for me to be a blessing down there and to have a changed life when I get back home.”

Jackie Tomasson, who is going on this trip with her husband Mike and daughter Chelsea, says, “I want to go to Costa Rica because from the time I was a teenager I have had a desire to do missions. I want to help those that are unable to help themselves, to be a blessing to the less fortunate. I want to be the hands and feet of Jesus. During this trip to Costa Rica I am expecting God to use me in many different ways that are new to me (He already is) and I am praying that I grow closer to God during the whole thing. I know that my life will be forever changed… for the good.

Mack Kirton says, “As far as why I want to go to Costa Rica? Well that is a fairly in-depth answer. I know that I at least got pretty complacent sitting in church and did not get involved with the ministry too much because it was out of my comfort level. So I look at going on this mission trip as a way to connect with the church and God more than I have. I expect the trip to bring me closer to my Christian walk with God and make me a better servant. So there in a nut shell is my answer but so much more than that and already with the drama and the team building experience it has been so exciting for me.”

(click on the photo to enlarge it)

 The Crocs for Costa Rica Photo: Tori, Sonja, Kaleigh, Chelsea, Phil & Caleb:

You can view this article in the newspaper online here:

http://eedition.beausejourreview.com/doc/Beausejour-Review/beausejour-review/2012041801/#8

(photography by Chris Jordan)

About Chris Jordan

Husband. Father. #Author. #Blogger. Follower of Jesus. And I enjoy a good cup of coffee!
This entry was posted in mission trip and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to 2012 Mission Trip to Costa Rica

  1. Pingback: Costa Rica Mission 2014 and the Benefit of Short Term Mission Trips | New Life

Leave a Reply

