Just another day… or is it?

So I woke up this morning (or rather was woken up by my alarm clock and two subsequent snooze buttons – see this week’s Sunday Funnies and you’ll understand) and began my monotonous daily routine… go into the bathroom, brush my teeth, shower, get dressed, wake the kids up, help them get out the door for school, blah blah blah. And then I thought, does this have to be just another day? Doing the same thing every day until I die? And I shook my head and said, “No!”

After we got the kids off to school yesterday morning, my wife and I went for a walk around town, enjoying the beginnings of beautiful spring weather. We had breakfast at the Country Bumkin (ah, small town Manitoba!), stopped to admire the tulips at the Post Office, and greeted and chatted with several other people out for walks along the way.

The Bible tell us to “Make the most of every opportunity for doing good in these evil days” (Eph. 5:16). In other words, every day, we can choose to do good and be a blessing to everyone we meet. In fact, when I meet together with my prayer partner, Ken Sundelin, that’s the last thing I pray before we finish: “Lord, give us many opportunities to be a blessing to everyone we meet today.”

Are you having a tough day? One of the best things you can do to cheer yourself up is look for someone worse off than you and do something to bless them! “So let’s not allow ourselves to get fatigued doing good. At the right time we will harvest a good crop if we don’t give up, or quit. Right now, therefore, every time we get the chance, let us work for the benefit of all, starting with the people closest to us in the community of faith” (Galatians 6:9-10).

Don’t let today be just another day. Open your eyes to all of the opportunities around you! And on that note, check out this great video by Canadian Christian recording artist Derek Gust. And… open your eyes!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HvVWyNXaizY

About Chris Jordan

Husband. Father. Author. Pastor. Guidance Counsellor. High School Teacher. Follower of Jesus. And I enjoy a good cup of coffee!
This entry was posted in blog and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Just another day… or is it?

  1. A good reminder, Chris. Thanks for this!

  2. Pingback: My Top 10 Favourite Posts on New Life – The First Six Months | New Life

Leave a Reply

