The Voyage Continues

Dear friends,

I love to write. (No duh, this is the 75th post on your blog, silly!).

But seriously, I love to write.

I must write.

I can’t not write.

(To all of my fellow writers out there, please ignore the double negative in that last sentence, just trying to emphasize my point here!).

About 12 years ago, I got a great idea for a youth fantasy novel called The Voyagers: Mutiny on the Fellowship. I wrote out the outline for the entire book including character sketches, and that’s where the story stayed… in limbo… until November 2011.

Last fall, two of my writing buddies (both bloggers) – thanks Wendy and Nichole – encouraged me to participate in NaNoWriMo – National Novel Writing Month. I’m so thankful that they did! The goal was to spend one focused month – 30 days – and write 50,000 words in your novel. And… I did it! I was so excited to see the first 14 chapters of my story finally completed… well, the first draft anyway.

However, after the end of NaNoWriMo, I must confess that I returned quickly to the busyness of life and the otherness of the real world, and have barely written half a chapter since then. But today, I decided enough was enough. It’s time to get back to the story! And so, I printed out my first 172 pages to re-read and remind myself where I was in the story, and get back to writing again.

Fifteen minutes a day. That isn’t much. But if I can follow this commitment, I know that I can have the first draft of the story finished by the end of the summer. And then… the editing begins. But that’s another horror story for another day!

You can check out my video-blog here, if you’re interested:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4bbXvbRczpo&feature=plcp

Writers – what project are you currently working on??

– Chris

About Chris Jordan

Husband. Father. #Author. #Blogger. Follower of Jesus. And I enjoy a good cup of coffee!
This entry was posted in blog and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to The Voyage Continues

  1. Five and soon to be six books is what I am working on, any tips?

  2. I also decided to make a stand in my Novel and have set a minimum goal of 100 words a day. (but I am averaging closer to 700) Something is better than nothing… I also got sticky notes so I could visualize my outline and plot everything out easier… my wall is a colourful and wonderful mess of stickies and yarn! “Through The Puddle” should have its first draft done by the end of the year if all goes well!

  3. Pingback: New Life Blog | The Beausejour Pulpit

  4. Chris Jordan says:

    Well, I spent the afternoon re-reading the first 172 pages of my story, and then picked up writing again. Only got 200 words today, but I’m back into the swing of things, and look forward to continuing again tomorrow, too!

  5. Chris Jordan says:

    I’m so excited! I wrote 1,215 words tonight, bringing my current word count up to 54,547. We’re on a roll again!

  6. gilsullivan says:

    sounds interesting…. can’t wait to learn more about it.

  7. Pingback: Amalgam: It Isn’t Just Another Breakfast Cereal | New Life

Leave a Reply

