Amalgam: It Isn’t Just Another Breakfast Cereal

Well, this is the post I originally wrote HERE. However, For some ridiculous reason, to which, however, I’ve no desire to be disloyal, Some person in authority, I don’t know who, very likely the Astronomer Royal, (nevermind, those are lyrics stolen from Gilbert and Sullivan’s excellent musical The Pirates of Penzance…). Anyway, that fabulous post was lost in cyberspace when I went to post it, and now, at long last – 10 days later – I am reposting that blog… so here goes!

 

What is the New Life  blog?

From the time I started this blog in January of this year (see the inaugural post HERE), I have been learning and growing and discovering what this blog is all about. I’ve been so pleased to watch the blog grow to a current following of 70 people. It has become somewhat of an amalgam – it isn’t just another breakfast cereal. And so today, I thought I’d share with you an overview of what the New Life blog is all about…

The Sunday Funnies – every Sunday I will share with you 2-3 of my favourite Calvin and Hobbes comic strips. I LOVE Calvin and Hobbes – one of the best comic strips of all time! The Bible says, “A merry heart does good like a medicine…” Click HERE to read the most recent one…

Sermon of the Week – as a pastor, I have the awesome privilege of preaching God’s Word every Sunday morning. On Monday, I will share with you my sermon notes from my weekly message, with a link to the audio message that you can download or listen to online. My latest series HERE is a journey through the Old Testament. Check it out!

The Voyagers: Mutiny on the Fellowship – as a writer, I am currently working on my first novel – a youth fantasy story. From time to time, I will share with you updates on my journey from idea (which first came in April of 1999 – over 12 years ago!) to my goal of one day seeing this novel published. You can read my most recent update HERE.

Personal Family Life – from time to time, my blog will also include photos and write-ups of soem of the recent happening in my personal family life. Click HERE to read about my field trip to a national historic site of Canada with my 9 year old daughter Hannah… (also, there’s a great pic there I took of her!).

Re-Blogs – there are so many excellent blogs out there, and I follow many different ones, so from time to time, I will re-blog – or re-post – some of the best ones that I am reading. I realize that some of my readers don’t necessarily follow other blogs, and so I re-blog some great posts to expose you to some of the other great blogs that are out there. HERE is one of my most recent re-blogs from Perry Noble. Check it out!

Videos & Songs – from time to time, I will also share with you videos and songs from youtube or various other online sources to encourage or inspire you. HERE is one of my most recent ones, with the song “He is With You” by Mandisa…

Well, there’s a sneak peek at some of the different ingredients that make up my New Life Blog. I know it’s quite an amalgam, not too entirely different from the ingredients of a random breakfast cereal. But I hope that they are encouraging, inspiring and challenging for you. Thanks for joining me on this journey…

Have an awesome, God-blessed day today!

– Pastor Chris Jordan

About Chris Jordan

Husband. Father. Author. Pastor. Guidance Counsellor. High School Teacher. Follower of Jesus. And I enjoy a good cup of coffee!
This entry was posted in blog and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Amalgam: It Isn’t Just Another Breakfast Cereal

  1. Pingback: My Top 10 Favourite Posts on New Life – The First Six Months | New Life

  2. Pingback: My Top 10 Personal Favourite Posts on New Life – 2013 | New Life

Leave a Reply

