Wallenda’s Walk of Faith

Did you see Nic Wallenda’s high-wire walk across Niagara Falls on Friday night? I sat down and watched it with my family when we came home from youth – it was amazing to watch! (It was cool also because I was just at Niagara Falls two months ago). But what impressed me more than his 1,800 foot walk across the tightrope was how he was constantly praying and praising the Lord Jesus – before, during and after the event! Check out these quotes from The Sudbury Star:

  • “The King of the Wire puts his faith in the King of Kings.
  • Just before Nik Wallenda steps onto the wire tonight in an attempt to become the first person to walk a tightrope across the mouth of the Horseshoe Falls, he’ll form a circle with a dozen close friends and members of his close-knit Christian family and they’ll say a prayer to Jesus Christ.
  • The cross Wallenda wears around his neck every time he walks on a wire isn’t just a fashion statement, it’s a message about the religious beliefs the American performer holds close to his heart.
  • “I grew up in a born-again Christian family. A Bible-believing, God-fearing family. That’s the way I was raised and I find comfort and peace in that,” he said…
  • But the 33-year-old Wallenda believes (the walk across Niagara Falls) never would have happened if not for his faith. “It’s the most important part of my life,” he said. “I believe in a thing called unmerited favour. It’s undeserved, but God’s involvement in my life has gotten me to where I am in my career…
  • “I pray and I talk to God a lot and I find peace in that. That’s how I can remain calm when people would think I could go nuts during this whole process,” he said. “That’s why I try to live an upright life and I try to be an example to everybody.”

(quotes by Dan Daken, posted 3 days ago. You can check out the original article at thesudburystar dot com)…

So what challenge are you facing in your life today? It’s time to get out of the boat – step out in faith – and run towards your giant. You can be confident that if our God is for us, then no one can stand against us. We are more than conquerors through Him who loved us, and we can do all things through Christ who strengthens us! (As a side note, if you need some extra encouragement in your life today, check out my latest post on my other blog, Strong and Courageous).

Be strong and courageous today!

p.s. here’s the pic of my wife Liza and I at Niagara Falls two months ago…

About Chris Jordan

Husband. Father. Author. Pastor. High School Bible Teacher. Follower of Jesus. And I enjoy a good cup of coffee!
This entry was posted in blog and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

