A Bible Falling Apart

One of my favourite quotes by Charles Spurgeon, the Prince of Preachers:

“A Bible falling apart often belongs to someone who isn’t.”

Do you know where your Bible is??

Here’s another quote by another minister, J.C. Ryle: “There is more Bible buying, Bible selling, Bible printing and Bible distributing than ever before in our nation. We see Bibles in every bookstore; Bibles of every size, price and style. There are Bibles in almost every house in the land. But all this time I fear we are in danger of forgetting that to HAVE the Bible is one thing, and to READ it quite another.”

About Chris Jordan

Husband. Father. Author. Pastor. High School Bible Teacher. Follower of Jesus. And I enjoy a good cup of coffee!
This entry was posted in blog and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to A Bible Falling Apart

  1. RebeccaAarup says:

    Yeah baby! Two of my favorite preachers AND quotes!!!!

  2. Overwhelmed By Joy says:

    So true! I know where my Bible is – getting rebound! I can’t wait to get it back.

    • Chris Jordan says:

      Awesome – I’m sure you’ve probably got a spare to be reading until you get that one back? I know I have several Bibles in my house and office… 🙂

  3. yalandarose says:

    have you noticed that almost no one brings worn Bibles to church? it’s almost as stylish as what they are wearing. instead of some of us getting lost in the Word, the Word has gotten lost in the various translation and stylish cover designs.

    • Chris Jordan says:

      It’s true! As for myself, I have my favourite Bible (leather bound NKJV Spirit-filled Life Study Bible) that I’ve been using for the past 13 years, and I have now duct-taped the spine to keep it together, and that’s the one I like to take with me wherever I go / preach etc… thanks for the feedback!

  4. Chrystal says:

    Those are great quotes! My Study Bible is full of underlining & notes that I am taking more & more of. That’s my church Bible & devotional Bible, but I am reading the Chronological Bible right now & loving the way it connects the whole story. And I really want to start memorizing more….feel a sense of a need for that. Any helpful hints, Chris?

    • Chris Jordan says:

      Chrystal,
      There are many great passages to look for Bible verses to memorize. Some of my favourite chapters to find Scriptures in include Ephesians 1, Romans 8, John 14,15,16 and of course the Psalms are great too – Psalm 100 (praise), 103 (God’s blessings), 51 (confession/repentance), 91 (God’s protection) and 121 (God’s help) are a few good ones to start with. Go for it!

  5. I just nominated you for the Super Sweet Blogger Award.

  6. Pingback: The Top 10 Posts on New Life | New Life

Leave a Reply

