The Bus Driver’s Story: Part #2

To those of you who commented on or liked my post from two days ago, here’s a follow up from one of our local newspapers, the Winnipeg Free Press. I’m just sharing a few quotes that really impacted me, you can read the whole article HERE if you want.

It’s interesting, when I was sharing this story with my wife, she couldn’t believe that this random act of kindness was so newsworthy. What a sad commentary on the signs of the times of the world we’re living in, hey? “Someone did something nice for someone else, stop the presses, tell the world!” Sheesh…

Winnipeg Transit driver Kris Doubledee gave his leather shoes to a homeless man. He doesn't consider it a selfless act. He says anyone would do the same.

Bus driver walks the (charity) walk

Giving away shoes to homeless man is second nature to Good Samaritan.

Winnipeg’s most famous bus driver claims he didn’t do anything remarkable when he pulled his bus over Tuesday morning, hopped off and gave a homeless man his shoes. He habitually helps people and believes the rest of us do the same.

“I just do it because you’ve got two arms and two legs and you use them every day. You’ve got one heart and you should use it every day, too,” Kris Doubledee said Wednesday night…

He has a deep faith in God that guides his day-to-day actions, he says. He’ll often offer up prayers for the people he sees. “It’s kind of a thing with me. I see somebody with a disability or a need, I try to take their pain away or pray they find relief.”

He prayed the first time he saw the shoeless man. When he saw him the second day, he thought that was a sign to get involved. “The first time I saw him I asked the Lord ‘Can you take his pain away?’ The next day, it’s like God put him there. I pulled over the bus. I knew I had to help him.”

~ ~ ~

May this story encourage you to look for opportunities to do good to all of those you meet every day!

Pastor Chris Jordan

About Chris Jordan

Husband. Father. #Author. #Blogger. Follower of Jesus. And I enjoy a good cup of coffee!
This entry was posted in blog and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Bus Driver’s Story: Part #2

  1. Rebecca says:

    “Let your light so shine before men, that they may see your good works, and glorify your Father who is in heaven.” (Matthew 5:16) This driver has this scripturet posted in his heart. I pray God continue to use Him for His glory.

    Thanks for sharing Pastor Chris!

    • Chris Jordan says:

      Amen Rebecca! When I first heard the story about this random act of kindness, I wondered whether or not this bus driver was a believer…

Leave a Reply

