#NaNoWriMo 2012 – National Novel Writing Month

Well it’s Nov. 3, 2012 – day #3 of NaNoWriMo. To those of you who don’t know, NaNoWriMo stands for National Novel Writing Month.

From the “About” section of their website: National Novel Writing Month is a fun, seat-of-your-pants approach to novel writing. Participants begin writing on November 1. The goal is to write a 50,000-word (approximately 175-page) novel by 11:59:59 PM on November 30. Valuing enthusiasm and perseverance over painstaking craft, NaNoWriMo is a novel-writing program for everyone who has thought fleetingly about writing a novel but has been scared away by the time and effort involved.” Click HERE for more info!

Last year I participated in NaNoWriMo and accomplished the goal of 50,000 words in 30 days. It was a lot of hard work – blood, sweat and tears – but I did it. And now, on day #3 of NaNo 2012 I’m sad to report that I only had 98 words written on my novel as of the beginning of the day. Not to mention the fact that I’m actually going rogue this year. You’re actually supposed to begin writing a new novel, but I’ve decided to take my novel that I started last year (and wrote 15 chapters of what looks like it will be about 21 chapters), and finish my last six chapters. It may or may not end up being 50,000 words, and it may or may not take the whole month, but that’s my goal in this month of November – to finish the first draft of my first novel: The Voyagers: Mutiny on the Fellowship. This story is going to be a Youth/Young Adult fantasy novel.

I first got the idea for this story in 1999 – thirteen years ago. I had written character sketches and an outline for the whole story, but never actually started writing the manuscript until NaNoWriMo last year. And so my hope is to finish the first draft of this novel before the end of November. And then begins the painstaking process of… editing!

I’ll keep you posted!

– The Author!

p.s. I wrote 1,950 words today, bringing my total up to 2,048 – still less than half of the target goal of 5,000 for day #3… but I’m well on my way!

  • To see my first vlog (video log) on Youtube, click HERE.
About Chris Jordan

Husband. Father. #Author. #Blogger. Follower of Jesus. And I enjoy a good cup of coffee!
This entry was posted in Book and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to #NaNoWriMo 2012 – National Novel Writing Month

  1. Kristina says:

    Good luck with your NaNoWriMo attempt!

  2. cricketmuse says:

    I’m doing a bit of a rogue NaNo write as well. I completed my YA novel back in 2010 and have sent it to a couple of editors who indicate it needs some polishing. I’m brushing it off and setting it up as a blog attached to my regular blog. Brave or foolish to let everyone to witness my work-in-progress? I don’t know…
    Happy Pages and see you on the journey,
    CricketMuse
    ala Verasimilitude

    • Chris Jordan says:

      I commend you on posting your story online to allow people to witness your work in progress. I have toyed with that idea as well, but to be honest, my first draft of my novel is SO BAD I would be embarrassed for anyone to read it at this stage. However, after I begin the gruelling process of editing, perhaps then I will do the same thing? Anyway, I will definitely check out your blog and see how that’s working for you! Thanks for stopping by…

  3. You go, dude! I guess this means you are not a bi-vocational pastor, correct? If I tried doing that I would either get fired from one job (church or driving a school bus), have my wife leave me, or both – which means I would probably lose the church, nevertheless. God luck.

    • That was supposed to be “Good luck,” but consider it a Freudian slip 😉

    • Chris Jordan says:

      Thanks Anthony, and you are correct – I am so blessed to have the privilege of being paid full time by the church. It is such a blessing to be able to focus whole heartedly on the work of the ministry! I spent two of my first four years in ministry bi-vocationally, and it was such a challenge juggling church, ministry, work and family. God bless you as you serve Him, His church, and your ‘tent-making’ (by the way, from your blog, it sounds like you have lots of fun driving the bus!). I like working with kids and youth, too. Awesome! Bless you today bro…

Leave a Reply

