Put Your Dream to the Test

Dear friends,

(This was originally posted on Dec. 31, 2009 on my old blog, The Land of Promise). 

When I was ten years old, I wrote my first novel – an 88 page science fiction story called “Planetary Wars.”  (Okay, not much can be said for the title’s originality, but hey – I was only ten!).  I have always enjoyed writing, both fiction and non-fiction, and have written a dozen mini-books that I have self-published, as well as hundreds of blog articles, over a year’s worth of daily devotionals, and more.

My dream as we’re heading into 2010 is to write – and publish – my first book.  The book is called Supernatural: Contending for Signs and Wonders Today.  I believe the Lord has given us the theme of “Extraordinary Dreams” for the New Year for our Church family.  The Bible says, “God is able to do exceedingly abundantly above all that you can ask, imagine, or dream, according to His power at work in us.” (Eph. 3:20).  I want to challenge you to DREAM BIG as we head into 2010!

One of the books that I am reading through with our Church leadership team right now is “Put Your Dream to the Test” by John Maxwell.  In the book, he writes:  “A dream is an inspiring picture of the future that empowers you to do everything you can to achieve it.” The book contains 10 questions to help you see your dream, and seize it.  In the book, he writes, “I believe God wants us to dream, and to dream big, because He’s a big God who wants to do big things and He wants to do them through us.”  To creatively share my dream with you, I thought I would go through the first five questions in John’s book, and see how my dream measures up:

1.  The Ownership Question:

“Ordinary people can live extraordinary lives when they follow their dreams… Successful people – those who see and seize their dream – love what they do and do what they love.”

Is my dream really my dream?  Absolutely.  I love to write, and I do it because I enjoy doing it, not because anyone else has suggested that I should.  It is one of my favourite past-times, and a dream of mine to see some of my writings published.

2.  The Clarity Question:

“Begin by writing a detailed description of your dream.  Let your imagination go wild.  Make your dream measurable.”

Do I clearly see my dream?  Yes.  My dream for 2010 is to finish writing my manuscript – an 18 chapter book about signs and wonders – by the end of March.  My goal is to have the manuscript edited and ready for publishing by June.  This is a very specific and measurable goal.

3.  The Reality Question:

“You need to reach far beyond what you’re capable of, but at the same time base what you do on your strength and other factors within your control.”

Am I depending on factors in my control to achieve my dream?  Do I have the gifts and talents to be able to write a book?  I believe that I do.  One of my primary spiritual gifts is teaching, and writing is an extension of my teaching gift.  Every Sunday morning, I teach God’s Word to our Church family at Beausejour Community Church.  By writing a book, I would be able to reach and teach many more people with the truths of God’s Word.

4.  The Passion Question:

“What is passion?  It’s an enthusiasm that not only gives you energy and focus on the present, but also gives you power to keep moving toward the future.”

Does my dream compel me to follow it?  Oh yes!  I am so excited about the prospect of seeing my writing in print.  I am thrilled every time I finish off another chapter (I have three chapters and a preface complete).  I get so excited when I receive an e-mail from my editor, Wendy Neudorf, with her edits and revisions.  Writing a book is one of my passions.

5.  The Pathway Question:

“The real difference between a dream and wishful thinking is what you do day to day.  To reach your dream, you must do something every day that relates to your dream.”

Do I have a strategy to reach my dream?  Yes.  A little over a month ago, I made a commitment to spend at least 15 minutes a day working on my manuscript, and as a result of that, have written three chapters so far.  At this rate, I should have the manuscript completed by March.  I have an editor already in place who is working alongside of me and the manuscript, and – all being well – we should have the book ready by sometime in June.

So there you have it – a wannabe writer puts his dream to the test.

Fast forward to today: I’m happy to report that in June of 2012, I published this book, and saw my dream become a reality. Praise the Lord!

I want to challenge you, dear reader:  what are your dreams?  What’s in your heart to do?  Dream big, and pursue your dreams!

In the meantime, check out Dream Big, my first post on the Proverbial Thought blog…

Dreaming big,

Pastor Chris Jordan

About Chris Jordan

Husband. Father. Author. Pastor. High School Bible Teacher. Follower of Jesus. And I enjoy a good cup of coffee!
This entry was posted in blog and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

