#Hopeless, #Frustrated, #Confused & Ready to Give Up?

sad boyHave you ever gone through a situation that was completely overwhelming and it looked like there was no hope? Where it seemed like God was a million miles away, everything was dark, frustrating and confusing, and no one was there to help? Where people let you down – those closest to you, and even friends in the church? Where you just wanted to give up and walk away from everything? I’ve been there too. I think that’s one of the reasons why I am drawing such comfort from the Bible story we looked at this past Sunday morning…

In 1 Samuel 1, we are introduced to a woman named Hannah. She is overwhelmed because she is barren – she can’t have children – and she is tormented by Peninnah (who CAN have children) who bullies and mocks her in her pain. But instead of sitting down and having a pity-party, Hannah gets up and goes to the house of the Lord, and pours out her heart to God, crying out for God to give her a son. And – God answered her bold prayers.

We learned that when we have a big problem in our lives, we need to know how to pray bold prayers, so that God can perform a miracle, resulting in beautiful praise. If you missed the service, you can download or listen to the audio MP3 HERE.

One of the Scriptures that I shared in my message is another one that really encouraged me as well. It’s from Micah chapter seven. The prophet Micah talks about how all of the godly people seem to have disappeared from the earth, and everyone left is a murderer or busy doing evil. He says you can’t trust anyone – not even your best friend or your wife. But instead of getting discouraged, he makes this bold faith declaration:

“Therefore I will look to the Lord; I will wait for the God of my salvation; My God will hear me. Do not rejoice over me, my enemy; When I fall, I will arise; When I sit in darkness, The Lord will be a light to me.” (Micah 7:7-8).

What should we do when we have a BIG PROBLEM? That’s the time to lift our eyes up to the Lord Jesus and trust that He is good, and will answer our BOLD PRAYERS. When you fall (notice it doesn’t say IF you fall, but WHEN you fall – falls are inevitable!), ARISE! Get back up again. If you’re in darkness, look up and see the Lord standing there with a big flashlight ready to help you out of the miry clay. And, once the Lord turns everything around, respond with BEAUTIFUL PRAISE. Thank Him for His love and goodness, and keep on keeping on. Amen!

Pastor Chris Jordan

About Chris Jordan

Husband. Father. Author. Pastor. High School Bible Teacher. Follower of Jesus. And I enjoy a good cup of coffee!
This entry was posted in blog and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to #Hopeless, #Frustrated, #Confused & Ready to Give Up?

  1. Pingback: My Top 10 Personal Favourite Posts on New Life – 2013 | New Life

Leave a Reply

