Kicking Off #Superman Week with Some Photos! #ManOfSteel

I’m officially dubbing this week “Superman Week” in honour of the Man of Steel movie coming out on Friday. Four more sleeps until I get to see this movie, and I’m SO excited! In honour of Superman Week, I will be sharing a different post every day to get you ready for the movie. Today, I want to share with you a few Superman movie pics and the stories behind them all… enjoy!

Superman movie 1978

This is where it all began in 1978 – the original Superman movie with Christopher Reeve. I was six years old when it came out in the theatres, and I believed a man could fly! Ever since then, I have been a huge Superman fan. There were four movies in this series, and the first two were great, although the last two (III and IV: The Quest for Peace) were disappointing.

Superman Smallville

From 2001-2011, for ten years, I enjoyed watching the series Smallville, which chronicled the teenage years of Clark Kent (played by Tom Welling) during the years before he became Superman. (Incidentally, Smallville was filmed in Cloverdale in BC, where I lived for many years during the filming of the show!). Although I saw them filming the show a couple of times, I never actually met any cast or crew.

Superman Returns

I was so excited in 2006 when I heard a new Superman movie was coming out, starring Brandon Routh as Sueprman / Clark Kent. Although the new Superman Returns movie was better than Superman III and Superman IV, it still wasn’t as great as I hoped it could be. I liked it just because it was about Superman, but apart from that, it was a subpar movie.

Superman of Steel

Fast forward seven years. They’re getting ready to reboot the Superman franchise with Man of Steel, starring Henry Cavill as Superman / Clark Kent, and directed by Zack Synder. I am hopeful that this is going to be (dare I say it?) the best Superman movie yet!

A Look at the Evolution of the Super-Suit in the Movies & on TV:

superman costumes

Watch my posts over the next couple of days as I discuss all things Superman including the change to the suit (what happened to the red underwear outside of his pants?) and DC Comics ‘New 52’ relaunch in 2011… stay tuned!

Chris “Superfan” Jordan

About Chris Jordan

Husband. Father. Author. Pastor. Guidance Counsellor. High School Teacher. Follower of Jesus. And I enjoy a good cup of coffee!
This entry was posted in movie, Superman and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

