Seeking God in the Wilderness (Sermon of the Week)

SEEKING GOD IN THE WILDERNESS

(Beausejour Church – Pastor Chris Jordan)
To download a printable version of these notes, click HERE.
To listen to or download the audio MP3, click HERE
 
desert
 

REVIEW BACK TO SQUARE ONE SERIES:

  • In the first week, we talked about rediscovering the mission of Jesus the Saviour. Jesus said He came “to seek and to save that which was lost.” (Luke 19:10).
  • In the second week, we talked about the love revolution, how we need to let our lights shine before men, that they may see our good works and glorify God (Matt. 5:16).
  • TESTIMONY: Last week we learned the importance of building relationships with people: The BBQ First Principle. Personal Subway story of someone I’m praying for.

THE MISSION OF JESUS:

“John answered, saying to all, “I indeed baptize you with water; but One mightier than I is coming, whose sandal strap I am not worthy to loose. He will baptize you with the Holy Spirit and fire… And the Holy Spirit descended in bodily form like a dove upon Him, and a voice came from heaven which said, “You are My beloved Son; in You I am well pleased.” (Luke 3:16,22, NKJV).

  • Note – at this point in my sermon (originally planned to be a message about being anointed like Jesus), I left my notes to talk about seeking God in the wilderness.

“Then Jesus, being filled with the Holy Spirit, returned from the Jordan and was led by the Spirit into the wilderness, being tempted for forty days by the devil. And in those days He ate nothing, and afterward, when they had ended, He was hungry.” (Luke 4:1-2).

  • One of the things that we need to learn to do is to be led by the Spirit.
  • The Holy Spirit is like God’s GPS – He will show you where He wants you to go.
  • It seems unusual that the Holy Spirit would lead Jesus into the wilderness where he would be beat up by the devil, tempted, hungry and tired.

TESTIMONY: About the call to come and pastor in Beausejour.

  • I wanted to be led by the Spirit. Liza and I both prayed about it until we heard from God.
  • The best place to be is in the centre of God’s will – there is peace there.
  • Even led by the Spirit, sometimes you will find yourselves in the wilderness or a storm.
  • During those times, it’s good to remind yourself that the Spirit led you where you are.
  • Jesus was led by the Spirit into the wilderness, He was tempted, He got hungry.
  • Sometimes God allows us to enter the wilderness so we will learn to lean on Him.
  • What is a wilderness experience? Health struggles, financial issues, relationship troubles.

READ REFLECTIVELY THROUGH PSALM 63:1-11:

1 A Psalm of David when he was in the wilderness of Judah. O God, You are my God; Early will I seek You; My soul thirsts for You; My flesh longs for You In a dry and thirsty land Where there is no water. 2 So I have looked for You in the sanctuary, To see Your power and Your glory.

  • David wrote this when he was in the wilderness and his first response was to seek God.

3 Because Your lovingkindness is better than life, My lips shall praise You. 4 Thus I will bless You while I live; I will lift up my hands in Your name. 5 My soul shall be satisfied as with marrow and fatness, And my mouth shall praise You with joyful lips.

  • The reason David wanted to seek the Lord was because He knew that God was good and loving. Because of God in his life, he was satisfied and fulfilled.

6 When I remember You on my bed, I meditate on You in the night watches.

  • Not only did David seek the Lord in the morning, but also in the evening.

7 Because You have been my help, Therefore in the shadow of Your wings I will rejoice.

  • This verse doesn’t mean that God is a bird. But like a mother bird protects her baby birds with her wings, God protects and keeps close those He loves.

8 My soul follows close behind You; Your right hand upholds me.

  • David was staying close to God, and God was holding up David.

9 But those who seek my life, to destroy it, Shall go into the lower parts of the earth. 10 They shall fall by the sword; They shall be a portion for jackals.

  • David had enemies who wanted to destroy his life, but he trusted God to judge them.

11 But the king shall rejoice in God; Everyone who swears by Him shall glory; But the mouth of those who speak lies shall be stopped.”

  • David knew how to rejoice in the Lord and His goodness.
 
 
Beausejour Community Church Website:  www.beausejourchurch.ca
Pastor Chris Jordan’s Blog:  https://pastorchrisjordan.wordpress.com/
About Chris Jordan

Husband. Father. Author. Pastor. High School Bible Teacher. Follower of Jesus. And I enjoy a good cup of coffee!
This entry was posted in Sermon and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

