The Incomparable Value of Expository #Preaching

I love the Bible and I value the wisdom of God’s Word. As a preacher, this is why I prefer to preach expository sermons. (Haddon Robinson defines expository preaching as “the presentation of biblical truth, derived from and transmitted through a historical, grammatical, Spirit-guided study of a passage in its context, which the Holy Spirit applies first to the life of the preacher and then through him to his congregation”).

For example, in the past three years, I have preached through the Gospel of Luke (16 weeks), Proverbs (a 4 week overview), the Book of Revelation (10 weeks), an overview of the Old Testament (7 weeks), the Gospel of John (10 weeks), and most recently Galatians (10 weeks) and Philippians (on week #3 this Sunday).

Although I don’t do it exclusively, I find it is one of my favourite ways to preach God’s Word.  I will occasionally preach a topical sermon or series, but always do my best to make sure it is solidly based on God’s Word and not just my opinions. It’s unfortunate that too many preachers today have not only abandoned expository preaching, but don’t use the Bible at all!

I came across this great article today from Sermon Central that I wanted to share with you, to encourage you with:

The Incomparable Value of Expository Preaching

by Bob Hostetler 

preaching

I’m not one of those people who thinks only expository preaching (that is, preaching that relies on—rather than obliquely refers to—a passage in the Bible, explains what it says and how it applies today) is good or valid. However, I much prefer it. Much. May I say to you: Much.

Here’s one reason why: There is a whole lot of preaching in churches today that makes good points and says good things in entertaining ways, but which relies mostly (or even exclusively) on the preacher’s perspective and opinions rather than on sound interpretation and explanation of the Bible.

But when a preacher tasks himself or herself with a passage of Scripture and lets it decide and guide what is said from the pulpit (or, as is often the case, music stand or Plexiglas lectern), it can be both limiting and liberating. When you preach from a text, there is far less room (if you’re honest) for opinions and personal prejudices to creep in. It can still be done, of course, but not so easily without raising red flags in the preacher’s soul.

The problem many of us preachers face, however, is that we want to preach what we want to preach. We want to make certain points that Scripture may not make—or may not make unequivocally. But that is exactly why I prefer expository preaching, because it forces me as a student and communicator to make the points Scripture makes instead of the points I really want to make. And that’s a good thing.

You can read the whole article HERE

About Chris Jordan

Husband. Father. #Author. #Blogger. Follower of Jesus. And I enjoy a good cup of coffee!
This entry was posted in blog and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to The Incomparable Value of Expository #Preaching

  1. I’ve read Haddon Robinson’s book on expository preaching and it’s one of my favorites. I would argue that using Robinson’s definition all preaching should be expository in nature. That is to say that all preaching should ultimately explain a text/s and apply it to life. This can be done in a topical sermon or any other kind of sermon for that matter.

    • Chris Jordan says:

      Thanks for the feedback, Caleb… I agree that one can preach a topical sermon and still be expository in one’s preaching. I guess what I was referring to moreso was the importance of preaching through Books of the Bible as well in an effort to communicate a good overview of the whole counsel of Scripture with one’s congregation. Not that it one has to preach only through Books of the Bible, but it is still a good practice! Thanks again for adding your thoughts to the discussion…

  2. Here is an example of doing both. Wednesday night I preached from both Matthew 14 and Acts 27. The topic was storms in life. I presented 6 observations from those texts that related to storms. I had a topic based on experiences from the previous week, and I felt our people would be encouraged by the truth revealed in Scripture. So, I went to the passages where that truth/truths are taught and expounded them.

    • Chris Jordan says:

      Sounds excellent, Anthony… may God grant that there would be more ministers of the Gospel who would more faithfully preach from the Scriptures! Amen…

Leave a Reply

