The Midnight Musings of a Small Town Blogging Pastor – or – Journaling the Journey

The Midnight Musings of a Small Town Blogging Pastor

– or – Journaling the Journey of Mountain Top Highs and Valley Lows

Chris CropI’m not sure what inspired it, but for some reason, I decided to pull down all of my personal journals from the top bookshelf in my home office tonight. I dusted off the 25 volumes (some spiral bound, some saddle stitched and leather bound, and even one with a Snoopy cover on it) from 2002 to the present. I curled up in my Saskatchewan Roughriders fuzzy blanket and began to read. It was an enlightening experience!

25 Personal Journals

More than just a diary, these personal notebooks contain so many precious and valuable memories for me from the past eleven years, including such things as:

  • personal high mountain-top encounters I had with the Lord Jesus in prayer, worship or ministry, including an unquenchable hunger and passion for more of God in my life. My life Scripture theme seemed to be Psalm 63:1: “O God, You are my God; Early will I seek You; My soul thirsts for You; My flesh longs for You In a dry and thirsty land Where there is no water.”
  • personal low valley experiences where I got discouraged, struggled to overcome sin, or expressed frustration with where I was at in my relationship with the Lord. Romans 7:15 seemed to be a recurring theme for me, especially in the early journals: “I don’t understand myself at all, for I really want to do what is right, but I don’t do it. Instead, I do the very thing I hate.”
  • certain Bible verses and Scriptures stories that I read that impacted me, including various verses that I memorized, meditated on or journaled through
  • favourite quotes from many of the spiritual and inspirational books that I had read
  • family stories of spiritual experiences (my children coming to faith in Jesus, answered prayers of healings and provision from the Lord – many notable miracles)
  • memories from conventions I attended, or kids or youth camps I spoke at
  • sermon notes from almost every church service or meeting I attended
  • encouragement to see how far I’ve come and how much I’ve grown, learned and changed in the last eleven years. I know I’m not yet all that I will be one day, but I’m thankful I’m not what I once was!

So – what’s the point? Why did I share this with you today? Two reasons.

First of all, my one regret is that I never learned to journal sooner. I have been walking with Jesus for 24 years now, and would have loved to have had a written record of the first half of my journey with him.

And secondly, to challenge you to consider journaling for yourself. Do you journal? Whether you consider yourself a writer or not, give journaling a try. Maybe even begin writing your own blog and share your journey with others? Go on… you know you wanna!

Your Friendly Neighbourhood Small Town Blogging Pastor…

About Chris Jordan

Husband. Father. Author. Pastor. High School Bible Teacher. Follower of Jesus. And I enjoy a good cup of coffee!
This entry was posted in blog and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Midnight Musings of a Small Town Blogging Pastor – or – Journaling the Journey

  1. David says:

    I started in 2000 – just journalling occasionally. Now I make entries most day. Front of each book is for me, back is for sermon and seminar notes, etc. I find it incredible looking back, especially when God directs me to a specific date. Journalling might not be everyone’s cup of tea but for me it is essential and forms part of my journey.

    • Chris Jordan says:

      David – although I don’t journal daily, I have a similar pattern – front of my journals is for me, back is for books / Bible reading… cool!

Leave a Reply

