On Halloween

A follow-up to yesterday’s post about Halloween – a completely DIFFERENT perspective… check it out, give it a read, and tell me what you think!

TroubleFace Mom

I think I may actually offend many of the church going people I know with this post. I’m not sorry. Just so we’re clear, you know – in advance.

(*Edited to add that when this post was written in 2012, the only people who read it were my church going friends who really know me, and they know that when I say I might offend them, that I’m saying so in a let’s-still-be-friends-even-if-we-disagree, kind of way. I did not expect this blog to blow up the way it did the following year in 2013. I did not intend to offend the church going people everywhere, all the time. Holy smokes. But that seems to be what happened, however unintentional.)

Every Halloween it’s the same silly thing.

People getting annoyed with the gore. The focus on death. The devil. The blood.

And you know, I’m not a huge fan of all…

View original post 1,758 more words

About Chris Jordan

Husband. Father. Author. Pastor. High School Bible Teacher. Follower of Jesus. And I enjoy a good cup of coffee!
This entry was posted in blog and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to On Halloween

  1. Bob Crozier says:

    As I commented (in a couple of different places) on her blog, I like the point she is making that, as believers, we need to be engaging our culture and Halloween provides a real opportunity to do that. But, as I tried to say to her, just simply participating – even in a big and memorable way! – isn’t enough. If we are going to engage our culture (our neighborhood), then however we package whatever it is that we do, the message must not get lost in the packaging. The message of God’s love and forgiveness must be front, center, and clear. If all we are doing is participating, even if it is in a big or unique way, then we are still no different (in what we are doing) than anyone else. There have been a few good suggestions made in the comments to her blog for activities that might have significant impact with the message of Jesus. I especially liked this person’s suggestion:
    http://troublefacemom.com/2012/10/31/on-halloween/#comment-127
    Here is another good one:
    http://troublefacemom.com/2012/10/31/on-halloween/#comment-36

Leave a Reply

