Pastor and Son – Take Our Kids to Work Day 2013

Austin at Work 1This past Wednesday, I had the opportunity to take my 13 year old son to work with me as a part of The Learning Partnership’s “Take Our Kids to Work” program. It was a great experience for both of us! If you’ve never heard of the program, here’s a brief overview:

Benefits of Take Our Kids to Work

For students, it’s an opportunity to:  Understand the importance of staying in school by learning first-hand what skills are required in today’s workplace.  Start exploring career options in a practical way and gain a better understanding of just how many career choices are open to them.  Develop an appreciation for their parents’ careers and roles in supporting their families.

For parents, it’s preparing your child for the future. You can:  Participate in a shared experience with your child.  Begin a career dialogue based on actual experiences.  Enrich your child’s experience with discussions before, during and after the workplace visit.

Pastor’s Son Goes to Church!

Here’s a look at the day that Austin and I had together, told mostly in photos…

Austin at Work 2

We started off our day praying and reading the Bible together. We studied Psalm 63: “O God, you are my God. Early will I seek you. My soul thirsts for you in a dry and thirsty land where there is no water…”

Austin at Work 3

Being Wednesday, our church hosts a weekly women’s Bible study at the church, and during the Bible study, my wife Liza watches the children. So, Austin got to spend part of his day helping his mom with the kids.

Austin at Work 4

After a tasty lunch at our local Chinese restaurant (I have to feed my employees, right?), Austin and I went to Eastgate Lodge, our town’s personal care home, where I do a chapel once every 5-6 weeks.

Austin at Work 5

This month was an extra special treat for me as I had some help leading the singing of the hymns. One of the other local pastors in our town, Darrell and Maralee and their daughter Amber, helped me with the singing. I love those guys!

The rest of the day included hospital visitation, and some time back at the church with Austin helping his mom with some administrative work for the children’s ministry. It was a really neat experience, and I encourage anyone to give “take our kids to work” a chance!

Pastor Chris Jordan

About Chris Jordan

Husband. Father. #Author. #Blogger. Follower of Jesus. And I enjoy a good cup of coffee!
This entry was posted in blog and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Pastor and Son – Take Our Kids to Work Day 2013

  1. Pingback: New Life Blog 2013 – Check it out! | The Beausejour Pulpit

Leave a Reply

