Shirley’s Story – The Blessing of Answered Prayer

“But my life is worth nothing unless I use it for doing the work assigned me by the Lord Jesus — the work of telling others the Good News about God’s wonderful kindness and love.” (Acts 20:24).

I love hearing testimonies of what Jesus is doing in the lives of people today. The Bible tells us that Jesus is the Lord our Healer, and that He is the same yesterday, today and forever. Therefore, I believe that Jesus still heals the sick today.

This past Sunday morning, a young mother in our church shared her story with our church family, and I believe her testimony will be a blessing to you…

Tyler, Shirley & Charlie.

Tyler, Shirley & Charlie.

This is Shirley’s story in her own words…

So I shared our story at church the other day hoping it could encourage someone that prayers do get answered, and I feel like sharing it on here too!

Five years ago Tyler and I got married and pretty much immediately wanted to start a family. However after a year of not getting pregnant I was off to see the doctor. He then referred us to the heartland fertility clinic where we had tests done, many appointments, and a very minor day surgery for myself. We found out that I only had half a uterus. However even with knowing this the doctor still told us that this wouldn’t prevent me from getting pregnant. He did say that I would probably miscarry many times because my uterus was very small it would take a lot for it to stretch.

I remember us both feeling like what have we done wrong that God just didn’t want us to have a baby, we seen many, many people in this time get pregnant and have children and just couldn’t understand why.

We were just about to start in-vitro when I found out I was expecting. So now since being told I would miscarry many times, I couldn’t help but thinking everyday: “Is today the day I’m going to lose my baby?” Thankfully we had so many people praying for us. we had no complications in our pregnancy, other than the little monkey coming a tad early.

Since I had Charlie, my heart aches for those I know and people I don’t that are or who have struggled with infertility, pregnancy loss and infant loss. I can’t put myself in other people’s shoes but I can remember the hurt and pain I felt 5 years ago when I had already named my baby Charlie and I longed to hold him in my arms.

In Luke 1:45 it says, “Blessed is she who believed that the Lord would fulfill his promises to her.” Every single day of my pregnancy and even now I stand on that.

I was so lucky to have had people all over, people who didn’t even know me praying for me, and whoever it is out there struggling I want you to know I am praying for you.

* * *

The Bible says, “Hope deferred makes the heart sick, but when dreams come true, there is life and joy.” (Prov. 13:12). Maybe you’ve been praying and believing God for a miracle in your life. I want to encourage you to continue to P.U.S.H. in your prayers: Pray Until Something Happens. God is a good God. He is a faithful, prayer-answering God. Never give up! If you seek Him with your whole heart, you will find Him. Amen…

About Chris Jordan

Husband. Father. Author. Pastor. Guidance Counsellor. High School Teacher. Follower of Jesus. And I enjoy a good cup of coffee!
This entry was posted in blog and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

