Celebrating Seven Years #1 – The Beausejour Epistle

This month I am celebrating seven years since I first came to pastor Beausejour Community Church. It’s also been seven years since I started my first blog, The Land of Promise. For the next few days, I am going to reblog some of those old posts. Enjoy…

epistle

December 2006

Here is a copy of the letter that I wrote to my new church in Beausejour, after accepting this new ministry assignment…

Greetings in the wonderful name of our Lord and Saviour Jesus Christ! It was with great joy and excitement in our hearts that my wife Liza and I accepted Tim Peterson’s appointment to be the lead pastors at Beausejour Community Church. As I began working on this letter, I was reminded of how the Apostle Paul often communicated with his churches by means of letters – epistles – that make up 2/3 of the New Testament. Because I will not have the opportunity to come and minister in your Sunday morning service until December 10th, I thought I would take this opportunity to begin introducing my family and myself to you.

I was born and raised in Regina, Saskatchewan, and lived there until I moved to Surrey to attend Bible College in January of 1992. It was there, a year later, when I met my wife Liza, who is originally from Winnipeg. She and I have been married for eleven and a half years, and we have four wonderful children, Caleb (age 10), Victoria (8), Austin (6) and Hannah (4). Liza and I have been the youth pastors at Bible Fellowship Foursquare Church in Surrey for the past 10 years. In addition to this, I have been involved in our Christian school, speaking in chapels, and teaching high school Bible classes. I teach two classes at Pacific Life Bible College – Bible Research for the first year students, and Hermeneutics for the second year students. Liza is very actively involved in both our women’s and children’s ministries in the church. We greatly enjoy what we are doing there, but we also strongly sense the call of God to come to Beausejour.

Although I have received the appointment to be the next pastor in your church, I will not officially begin my regular ministry until January of 2007. In the meantime, I want to commend to you the church’s elders who will help me with some of the people care issues that may arise during this time of transition. I also want to explain to you how the time of transition will work from January until June of 2007. Tim Peterson, the president of our Foursquare family, felt that it was very important that the new pastor be installed at the beginning of the new year, so the congregation would not have to go an extended period of time without a shepherd. However, in September of this year, Liza and I pioneered a Master’s Commission program in our church, a discipleship and leadership training school. When we began praying about the possibility of coming to Beausejour, although we felt a peace in our hearts about the place and the people, we did not feel that we could leave our current ministry assignment at Bible Fellowship until the end of the first year of our Master’s Commission program. And so I proposed a transitionary schedule to Tim that would involve my traveling back and forth from Surrey to Beausejour for the six month time period from January until the end of June. After praying about it, he too felt a peace about this decision, and we began moving forward.

As mentioned already, I will be speaking at the church for the first time on December 10th. I will actually be in town from Thursday the 7th until Tuesday the 12th, to begin meeting with the leadership of the church and casting vision for the New Year. My spirit resonates with the words that Tim Peterson shared with us concerning the future and destiny of Beausejour Community Church, that “the best is yet to come!”

In the meantime, please know that we deeply love and care for all of you, and are already praying for you all on a regular basis. Our prayer today is, “that Christ will be more and more at home in your hearts as you trust in him. May your roots go down deep into the soil of God’s marvelous love. And may you have the power to understand, as all God’s people should, how wide, how long, how high, and how deep his love really is. May you experience the love of Christ, though it is so great you will never fully understand it. Then you will be filled with the fullness of life and power that comes from God.” (Ephesians 3:17-19).

With love in the Lord Jesus Christ,

Your new lead pastor, Chris Jordan

About Chris Jordan

Husband. Father. Author. Pastor. Guidance Counsellor. High School Teacher. Follower of Jesus. And I enjoy a good cup of coffee!
This entry was posted in blog and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

