Celebrating Seven Years #2: First Preach

This month I am celebrating seven years since I first came to pastor Beausejour Community Church. It’s also been seven years since I started my first blog, The Land of Promise. This is a reblog of one of those old posts. Enjoy…

bible coffee

December 10, 2006

So my flight arrived in Winnipeg on Thursday and I was greeted by a wind blowing, finger numbing, don’t-stick-your-tongue-to-a-cold-metal-pole, freezing cold -25 degrees Celcius weather, and the first words out of my mouth were, “Lord, are you sure – Beausejour?” But of course I was only joking. We have clearly heard the call from the Lord, and we must obey… no matter how chilly, freezing, frigid, frosty, frozen, glacial, icy, nippy, polar COLD it gets! I’m happy to say, and thankful to the Lord, that the rest of the weekend was MUCH warmer than that initial greeting – God sure has a good sense of humour, doesn’t He?

Anyway, I was so excited to be in Beausejour, and so looking forward to ministering the Word to my new congregation on Sunday morning, and meeting all of the people in the church. My prayer Thursday night was, “Lord, prepare me and anoint me to minister Your love, and preach Your Word in the power of the Holy Spirit. Amen.”

On Friday when I drove into the office for my first day at my new church, I right away felt like I was ‘home’. I spent the first day getting orientated, called a number of people in the church, worked on some admin stuff, and had dinner in the home of a family from the church. In fact, I was out for dinner in different homes every night I was in town that weekend – it was awesome! I’ve been telling people all the time that I’m living a dream I never knew I had – praise the Lord! This is what I was created for – to pastor people. Lord Jesus – thank you SO much for the call – I love you Lord!

“And I thank Christ Jesus our Lord who has enabled me, because He counted me faithful, putting me into the ministry, although I was formerly a blasphemer, a persecutor, and an insolent man; but I obtained mercy because I did it ignorantly in unbelief. And the grace of our Lord was exceedingly abundant, with faith and love which are in Christ Jesus. This is a faithful saying and worthy of all acceptance, that Christ Jesus came into the world to save sinners, of whom I am chief. However, for this reason I obtained mercy, that in me first Jesus Christ might show all longsuffering, as a pattern to those who are going to believe on Him for everlasting life. Now to the King eternal, immortal, invisible, to God who alone is wise, be honor and glory forever and ever. Amen.” (1 Timothy 1:12-17).

Sunday, December 10th, 2006 was so awesome! I had the opportunity to preach my first message as the new senior pastor of Beausejour Community Church. My message was on “Love, Acceptance and Forgiveness.” My key text was from Matthew 9:12-13 where Jesus said, “Healthy people don’t need a doctor – sick people do… For I have come to call sinners, not those who think they are already good enough.” I felt so at home ‘in the pulpit’, and I felt like I was warmly received by the people in the church. God has given me a wonderful new church family to love, care for, shepherd and lead – praise the Lord!

When I was driving back to my mother-in-law’s in Winnipeg on Monday, December 11th, after four long but enjoyable days of ministry in Beausejour, I was singing, praising the Lord, laughing, and filled to overflowing with the joy of the Lord. If there was any doubt before as to the call of God to go to B.C.C. (and there wasn’t), I am absolutely convinced now that this is what I was created to do… I’m living the dream!

Pastor Chris Jordan

About Chris Jordan

Husband. Father. Author. Pastor. Guidance Counsellor. High School Teacher. Follower of Jesus. And I enjoy a good cup of coffee!
This entry was posted in blog and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

