“Bodily Exercise Profits LITTLE” (musings on physical fitness)

bodily exerciseI’ve never really been a physically active type of person. Sure, when I was in school, we had a physical education class, but beyond that, I played only a little baseball when I was 12, although truth be told, I was more of a glorified bench warmer (and sometimes outfielder). Then there was curling in high school (if you consider that a sport).

But after I graduated, I never really did anything to be active or stay in shape. Sure, I thought about it several times, and may have even started a workout program once or twice (maybe), but I never really did anything to be physically active. The odd time our youth group would have a games night, I would jump in and play some basketball, but that seldom ended well for me. I’m surprised I had never given myself a heart attack or killed myself doing that!

And then I found this great Scripture to reinforce my lack of physical fitness: “For bodily exercise profits a little, but godliness is profitable for all things, having promise of the life that now is and of that which is to come.” (1 Timothy 4:8). Awesome! Whenever my super-spiritual friends got on a fitness kick I would always love to quote part of that Scripture to them, totally taking it out of context of course: “Ah, I would love to, but you know what the Bible says… bodily exercise profits only little… no time to waste on that! We should pray and read our Bibles instead.” Of course, I knew that Paul wasn’t telling Timothy that physical exercise was wrong or bad, he was just saying that compared to spiritual fitness, physical exercise was secondary. But it sure sounded good!

But something happened this past year. First of all, in the summer, I turned 41 years old. That itself wasn’t that big of a motivator to do anything health wise, but I’m sure it was a contributing factor. Fast forward to the fall of 2013, when I went on a Timmie’s run with a friend to the Tim Horton’s in Selkirk, for a nice large double double coffee and a Boston Cream donut (my favourite). As we drank coffee together, he started telling me about a home DVD exercise program that he had gone through: P90X. I got inspired, and asked if I could borrow it from him. He said yes.

But the P90X sat on the floor in my office for about a month. And then one day I finally opened it up and began the workout. I’m happy to report that I am on day #20 of the program and I haven’t quit yet – a major accomplishment for me!

The reality is, the program was probably a little bit more advanced than I should have started out with for someone working out for the first time, but I’m committed to follow through with the program, even though I’m not able to do everything 100% right now.

And so, I’m committed. Sure, bodily exercise profits a little. But it does profit. And I want to exercise, and get fit, and eat right, and live long. So I can glorify God longer. So I can watch my children and grand-children grow up. So I can get healthy and enjoy life. I’ll keep you posted on how I’m doing!

twitter P90X pic

Note: The P90X is a 90 day program that combines a variety of exercise techniques in 12 intense workouts that use resistance and body-weight training, cardio, plyometrics, ab work, martial arts and yoga. I don’t recommend it for anyone who wants to work out for the first time. A better program to start with might be their basic Power 90 workout, if you’re looking to get in shape yourself!

About Chris Jordan

Husband. Father. #Author. #Blogger. Follower of Jesus. And I enjoy a good cup of coffee!
This entry was posted in blog and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to “Bodily Exercise Profits LITTLE” (musings on physical fitness)

  1. David says:

    I got a Fitbit One for my last birthday and this has challenged me to walk more and further, eat wiser, get a bit more sleep, etc. I’ve lost 10lbs in six months.

  2. Tess says:

    My husband and I started P90X about 2 years ago (and plan to do it again sometime soon) and he was very proud of me that I sustained my first “workout injury” – I bruised and nearly tore all the muscles across my chest doing pushups 🙂 But I LOVE P90X. It’s an awesome program! Good for you!

    • Chris Jordan says:

      Thanks Tess… I’ll keep you posted on how I’m doing… hopefully I don’t experience my own personal workout injuries though!!

  3. Pingback: Why I’m Doing #P90X for the Second Time | New Life

Leave a Reply

