Soaking in the Secret Place #3: Fellowship with the Holy Spirit

Fellowship with the Holy Spirit:

“The grace of the Lord Jesus Christ, and the love of God, and the communion of the Holy Spirit be with you all. Amen.” (2 Corinthians 13:14).

“The amazing grace of the Master, Jesus Christ, the extravagant love of God, the intimate friendship of the Holy Spirit, be with all of you.” (2 Corinthians 13:14, msg).

Soaking in the secret place is fellowship with the Holy Spirit. This is one of the things the Apostle Paul prayed for the Corinthian church, that the communion, fellowship, or intimate friendship of the Holy Spirit would be with them all. So many Christians don’t know this intimacy with the Holy Spirit. “He who dwells in the secret place of the Most High Shall abide under the shadow of the Almighty.” (Psalm 91:1). The Lord wants us to abide, dwell, and remain in the secret place of His presence.

When I was the youth pastor at Bible Fellowship, there was a season when I sensed the Lord calling me to go deeper into the secret place of intimacy with Him. I began to spend extended periods of time with Him in prayer, sometimes for hours at a time. My heart’s cry was, “God, I’m tired of the usual. I don’t want to play church. I want more of Your presence in my life. I want to know You more!” Psalm 63:1-4 became my theme Scripture:

A Psalm of David when he was in the wilderness of Judah. O God, You are my God; Early will I seek You; My soul thirsts for You; My flesh longs for You In a dry and thirsty land Where there is no water. So I have looked for You in the sanctuary, To see Your power and Your glory. Because Your lovingkindness is better than life, My lips shall praise You. Thus I will bless You while I live; I will lift up my hands in Your name”

When I would get into my prayer closet, I would usually put on a CD filled with Scripture readings and prayers set to music. I’d lie down on the floor and rest in God’s presence, allowing Him to lavish His love upon me. Sometimes I would put on a worship CD and pour out my heart before the Lord. Other times I would open my Bible and meditate on the Scriptures, usually the Psalms. I began to look forward to and anticipate these times when I would meet with the Lord, hearing His voice and enjoying His presence. I was wrecked for everything but His presence, utterly abandoned in His love.

During this season I discovered one of the keys to the fruitfulness of Jesus in His ministry. “Most assuredly, I say to you, the Son can do nothing of Himself, but what He sees the Father do; for whatever He does, the Son also does in like manner. For the Father loves the Son, and shows Him all things that He Himself does; and He will show Him greater works than these, that you may marvel.” (John 5:19-20). Because Jesus spent time in the presence of the Father, He showed Jesus was He was doing, and that’s what Jesus did. He only said what the Father told Him to say and only did what the Father told Him to do. As I started soaking in His presence, God began revealing His plans and strategies to me. As I stepped out in faith and obedience, His blessing was upon everything I did.

I ministered at the Christ Church of Glory Chinese Church in Surrey, BC several years ago. Through an interpreter, I taught on the power of the Gospel of the Kingdom, and then prepared to minister healing to the congregation. The Lord gave me a word of knowledge, telling me there was someone in the church who had back pain. When I said that, my interpreter froze and looked at me and said, “Are you serious?” I said, “Of course I’m serious. I’m a preacher. Do you think I would lie to you?” He marveled, and said, “I have back problems!” I said, “Well, Jesus wants to heal you. Can I pray for you?” He answered in the affirmative, and as I prayed for him, I asked him to do something he couldn’t do before. As he stretched down and touched his toes, he found that he had indeed been instantly and miraculously healed by the power of God – praise the Lord!

Do you feel like you are in a spiritual wilderness? There is a blessing that comes to those who are in the desert. The wilderness speaks of hunger. When we’re in that dry and weary place, and we stir up our hunger for more of God, He will come to us. When we cry out for and seek God – not just for His blessings and the power – when we get hungry for God’s presence and get into the secret place where we have fellowship with the Holy Spirit, what is the result? “My soul shall be satisfied as with marrow and fatness, And my mouth shall praise You with joyful lips.” (Psalm 63:5). The New Living Translation says, “You satisfy me more than the richest of foods.”

glory sun

If there’s no satisfaction in your life, then it’s time to press into the presence of the Lord. In His presence, there is fullness of joy and peace. Have you lost the joy of your salvation? The Lord wants to restore that to you, and that will happen when you abide in Jesus. “These things I have spoken to you, that My joy may remain in you, and that your joy may be full.” (John 15:11).

What will be the fruit of spending time soaking in the secret place – abiding in the vine? You will discover a renewed passion for Jesus, a renewed vision for the harvest of lost and hurting souls, and abundant joy. You will be changed and transformed. You will hear God’s voice more clearly. My hope is that these Scriptures and stories would stir up a hunger and thirst for more of God in your life. Let’s be like Mary, and learn to sit at His feet:

“Now it happened as they went that He entered a certain village; and a certain woman named Martha welcomed Him into her house. And she had a sister called Mary, who also sat at Jesus’ feet and heard His word. But Martha was distracted with much serving, and she approached Him and said, “Lord, do You not care that my sister has left me to serve alone? Therefore tell her to help me.” And Jesus answered and said to her, “Martha, Martha, you are worried and troubled about many things. But one thing is needed, and Mary has chosen that good part, which will not be taken away from her.” (Luke 10:38-42).

Supernatural Cover FINAL with Bevere quote front onlySoaking in the Secret Place is one of the chapters from my book Supernatural: Contending for Signs and Wonders Today. Contact me to order your free copy of the e-book!

About Chris Jordan

Husband. Father. Author. Pastor. High School Bible Teacher. Follower of Jesus. And I enjoy a good cup of coffee!
This entry was posted in Book, Devotional and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Soaking in the Secret Place #3: Fellowship with the Holy Spirit

  1. SHARAT BABU says:

    Dear Brother Chris Jordan in JESUS, Greetings to you, pleased for this strengthening message and i am sharing with our people in India, please continue to send me more, please pray for us and for the evangelism we do in our country, have you been to India? please share more good news. your Brother Babu.

    ________________________________

  2. As Christians we need to have every day an encounter with the Holy Spirit. That’s the only way you’re going to know God. To fellowship with the HOLY SPIRIT is to let him guide you, teach you, what? His Word. When we do this we become obedient. Since He’s so gentle He will let you know everything, because God Spirit is in you.

Leave a Reply

