Bring It! What to do When You’re Halfway There

As many of you know, I started doing an intense home workout program in December called P90X. (See my post Bodily Exercise Profits Little for some of my early thoughts on this). For the first few weeks, it was a challenge to convince myself to get up every morning, but after the first month or so, it had become a regular habit in my life, and I was getting up every day to bring it!

halfway

However, this past week I hit the halfway mark, and I felt like giving up. I came up with all kinds of excuses. “I did 45 days, that’s better than nothing!” “I can’t get up early in the mornings anymore or I’ll be too tired during the day!”

But one morning when I slept in, right in the middle of when I should have been working out I got a text message from one of my friends, Dave, who said: “Rise and shine buddy. It’s time to BRING IT!” He had no idea that I had slept in and skipped my workout, but I got up and went downstairs to do my workout. Great timing! He challenges me to do my workout every day, and I challenge him to get into the Bible every day (and he has been doing it!).

So, what do you do when you’re half way there?

When you’re building something – whether its your marriage, your family, your business, or something else – it’s easy to get stuck once you hit the halfway mark. Look at what happened to the children of Israel when they were rebuilding the wall in Jerusalem: “So we built the wall, and the entire wall was joined together up to half its height, for the people had a mind to work… Then Judah said, “The strength of the laborers is failing, and there is so much rubbish that we are not able to build the wall.” (Nehemiah 4:6,10).

It’s easy to get discouraged when you’re only half way there. But that’s the time you need to bring it. You need to persevere. You need to keep going! What did Nehemiah do when the Israelites were discouraged? “And I looked, and arose and said to the nobles, to the leaders, and to the rest of the people, “Do not be afraid of them. Remember the Lord, great and awesome, and fight for your brethren, your sons, your daughters, your wives, and your houses.” (v.14).

So don’t be afraid. Don’t give up. Don’t quit! God is for you, not against you! You are more than a conqueror through Him who loves you! You are an overcomer by the blood of the lamb! Lift up your eyes to the Lord, from whom your help comes. Finish the race. BRING IT!

About Chris Jordan

Husband. Father. #Author. #Blogger. Follower of Jesus. And I enjoy a good cup of coffee!
This entry was posted in blog and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Bring It! What to do When You’re Halfway There

  1. Liz Ledarney says:

    Love it and love you Pastor Chris, I may be far away in body but I think of you, Liza and your family often, I thank God for the encouragement you are to David and the example of self-control and tenacity you are sharing thru this workout rigime…I know this is not easy…its a tough, I mean TOUGH workout. Good for you!!!!! Praying for you, the Lord greatly bless you.

  2. Pingback: Starbucks, Seinfeld and Surviving a Scary Cold Winter | New Life

  3. Pingback: Why I’m Doing #P90X for the Second Time | New Life

Leave a Reply

