Raegan and RJ in Space by Richard Collins (Book Review)

Raegan and RJ in Space: Colonizing the Galaxy for Christ:

By Richard Collins

A Book Review

space book

A little bit of background about myself as the reviewer before sharing my comments on this Children’s Christian Graphic Novel: I am a Christian who loves great children’s and youth fantasy literature – both sacred and secular – and I am also a huge fan of science fiction as well as superhero comic books and graphic novels. All of these contributed to my desire to read and review this book.

The basic premise to this storyline is a neat one: Set in the future where space travel is a reality, a group of Christians decide to leave earth to colonize the Alpha Centauri Star System. The main characters are Raegan and RJ, two young children who love Jesus and have many different great adventures in space together.

That being said, I must admit that I was a little disappointed with the artwork and general layout of the book. As a big fan of the graphic novel genre, I expected the layout to be comparable to other contemporary books of this type*, but it was not. The text and speech bubbles were too boxy, cold and technical, and didn’t have the fun, free flowing feel of a graphic novel. There was little character development, and the dialogue was for the most part trite and uninteresting. I showed it to one of my own children and asked his thoughts on the appearance of the book, and he said, “It looks cheesy, dad.” This graphic novel would have benefitted from suggestions from someone familiar with the graphic novel publishing world.

An editor and even something as little as a spell-checker would have been most helpful. (Vice-versa, not vise-versa; solely, not soley; not to mention the overuse and abuse of double and triple exclamation points!!!).

Finally, from a Christian perspective, I believe that there are far too many substandard Christian works that are out there, and unfortunately the name “Christian” has taken on a negative connotation when it comes to most media offerings – be they movies, music, or even books. I would love to see more excellent quality Christian resources presented that are as good as, if not superior to, their secular counterparts.

I’m giving Raegan and RJ in Space two out of five spaceships.

  • You can purchase a copy of this book from Amazon.com HERE.

Book Review by Chris Jordan.

Note – the publisher has provided me with a complimentary copy of the book through BookCrash in return for my reviewing this book on my blog.

bookcrash

* One example of an excellent Christian graphic novel is “The Action Bible” which I heartily recommend:

AB COVER.indd

About Chris Jordan

Husband. Father. Author. Pastor. Guidance Counsellor. High School Teacher. Follower of Jesus. And I enjoy a good cup of coffee!
This entry was posted in book review and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

