Bible Questions and Answers About Jesus

Bible Questions

I love talking about Jesus and the Bible! And from time to time, I get questions from people about what the Bible means by what the Bible says. And although I am definitely no expert, it is still one of my favourite past-times. And so today I thought I would share with you one of the e-mails I received from a friend, along with my answers to him. So – if you ever have any questions about God, the Bible or Christianity, don’t hesitate to ask! The truth is out there…

THE QUESTIONS #1:

Mark 1:34 “Jesus healed many who had various diseases.  He also drove out many demons, but he would not let the demons speak because they knew who he was”. Why would Jesus let the demons speak to the people to tell them who he really was? He is the Son of God! Why would Jesus do that? Wouldn’t he want something/somebody else vouching for who he is? I guess that is why we have to have such a strong faith to believe Jesus is who he says he is.

Thanks for the e-mail… as I’ve mentioned before, I love talking about the Bible!

First of all, in regards to Jesus not allowing the demons to speak and declare who He was… remember, at the beginning of His ministry, nobody knew that Jesus was the Messiah. As they started to learn, and He started to develop a following, people were trying to come and forcibly make Him King, and become a revolutionary to overthrow the Roman rule. That was hindering Him of fulfilling His mission of healing the sick, raising the dead, etc. and heading to the Cross… even after Jesus taught His disciples that He was the Messiah and proved it to them (i.e. on the Mount of Transfiguration where He showed Peter, James and John His glory), He told them not to tell anyone until after His resurrection. It was all about timing…

THE QUESTIONS #2:

Mark 1:40-41 “A man with leprosy came to him and begged him on his knees, “If you are willing, you can make me clean. Filled with compassion, Jesus reached out his hand and touched the man, “I am willing” he said. “Be clean!” Immediately the leprosy left him and he was cured”
 
We believe that Jesus will heal us and make us clean of all sins we commit today and forever, why would this man ask “if you are willing”?  He is Jesus!!!  Of course he is willing! Is it just the timing of it? That they were living in the time of Jesus himself and not knowing or understanding that that is what Jesus was brought to earth for? I guess without he bible I wouldn’t know that Jesus was brought to the earth to heal all sins and sinners.

Thanks for being an outlet for my bible questions! Have a great day! Blessings to you and your family! 

In regards to the story of the man with leprosy… this is one I share often when I’m teaching on healing, because this leper is typical of many people. So many people say they believe that Jesus HAS healed people in the past (historically, in the Bible, etc), and that He CAN heal people (He’s God, He can do whatever He wants), but many people doubt His WILLINGNESS – WILL He heal ME, NOW? So His statement was a good one! The leper said, “IF you are WILLING, you CAN.” And Jesus’ response is beautiful: “I AM willing!” And He says the same thing to us today – Jesus is willing to heal the sick!

Anyway, I love the Bible questions, keep them coming… have an awesome, God-blessed weekend my friend!

What are some of the questions YOU have about the Bible??

About Chris Jordan

Husband. Father. Author. Pastor. High School Bible Teacher. Follower of Jesus. And I enjoy a good cup of coffee!
This entry was posted in Bible and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

