My Nomination for the Liebster Blog Award

liebster blog award 2So today I received a notification on my most recent blog post – On the Bookshelf – Power Through Prayer – that I was nominated for something called the Liebster Award. Thank you Celeta for the nomination (you can visit her blog HERE)! Being unfamiliar with this particular blogging award, I did a little Yahoo! search (with a wink and a nod to my wife Liza who sadly thinks Google is a better search engine), and discovered a little bit about this award.

Celeta noted that the Liebster Award is “sort of like a Pay it Forward for the blogging community to encourage connections sprinkled with a condensed insight to what each blogger is about on a particular subject of interest.” The word ‘Liebster’ has German origins and many different several definitions including: dearest, sweetest, kindest, nicest, beloved, lovely, kind, pleasant, endearing and sweetheart.

Here are the Rules for the Liebster Blog Award:

1. Thank and link the person who nominated you.
2. Answer the questions given by the nominator.
3. Nominate 11 other bloggers, who have less than 200 followers and link them.* (*Note – in some places where I have seen the Liebster Blog Award posted, they have stipulated less than 3,000 followers, and I am going with that one, mostly because I already have 961 followers as of today!).
4. Create 11 new questions for the nominees to answer.
5. Notify all nominees via social media/blogs.

For this award, I have chosen to nominate the following Christian bloggers who share their faith, thoughts, stories, dreams and ideas through their blogs. (Note – I am breaking the rules a little bit in that I am only nominating 7 blogs, and asking 7 questions!).

  1. The Recovering Legalist
  2. Living in the Reign
  3. In My Father’s House
  4. Inside the Writer
  5. A Journey of Faith
  6. A Simple Man of God
  7. Simple Thoughts

Questions to nominees:

  1. What motivated you to start writing or blogging?
  2. What is one of your favourite books (or authors), and why?
  3. What is one of the items on your bucket list – something you would like to do before you die?
  4. Who is your favourite Bible hero, and why?
  5. Who is one of the most influential people in your journey of faith?
  6. Do you prefer coffee or tea?
  7. Share one other interesting anecdotal fact about yourself!

– – – – – – –

Here are my answers to the questions that Celeta gave to me:

1.  What prompted you to start writing/blogging/journaling?

Allow me to answer that question by quoting from my very first blog post, on my very first blog, on Dec. 5, 2006, over eight years ago:

“By faith Abraham obeyed when he was called to go out to the place which he would receive as an inheritance. And he went out, not knowing where he was going. By faith he dwelt in the land of promise as in a foreign country, dwelling in tents with Isaac and Jacob, the heirs with him of the same promise; for he waited for the city which has foundations, whose builder and maker is God.” (Hebrews 11:8-10).

What’s in a name? The Land of Promise is taken from the above Scripture. This particular story from the Bible has taken on new significance in my life over the past two months. After fourteen years of being involved in full time youth ministry on the West Coast, in Surrey, BC, the Lord is calling me to move my family of six to the small prairie town of Beausejour, Manitoba. Tim Peterson, the President of the Foursquare Gospel Church of Canada, has just appointed me to be the new lead pastor of the Foursquare church there. And just like Abraham, who obeyed when he was called to go out to the place which he would receive as an inheritance, so too we are stepping out in faith and obedience to the call of God upon our lives. Now, unlike Abraham, we do know where we are going. We are heading to our land of promise, and we are very excited about it! And so this blog will chronicle what will no doubt be a combination of the joys and sorrows, victories and struggles of transitioning into a new and different life calling – from being a youth pastor, to being a lead pastor. Welcome aboard!

Eight years later, I am still blogging and sharing parts of my personal story, along with inspirational quotes, reblogs of some of my favourite posts, as well as my weekly sermon of the week outlines, and Calvin and Hobbes comic strips. Since I started writing my blog, I have written and published two non-fiction Christian books, and am currently working on a youth fantasy novel that I hope to finish sometime soon!

2.  Tell me about an influential person in your journey of faith.

One of the most influential people in my journey of faith was my first pastor of my first church, Erwin Dyck. I had just gotten saved at the age of 18, and was still very rough around the edges when I began attending church, but he and his church family lovingly accepted me and welcomed me in the family of God, and encouraged me to pursue God’s call upon my life.

3.  What is one (or more!) example of how God has shown His faithfulness to you?

My whole life is a testimony to the goodness and faithfulness of God! Even though I am a sinner (albeit saved by grace), and have messed up many times, God continues to bless me, love me, and providentially care for me. He has blessed me with a wonderful wife, four amazing children, and a great church family that I am eternally grateful for.

4.  Tell me how a prophet in the Old Testament dramatically impacted your relationship with God.

I love the Bible, and many of the Old Testament prophets life stories and writings have impacted me and helped me to grow closer to the Lord. But if I had to pick just one, I think I would say Isaiah. He was someone who saw the Lord and recognized his own personal sinfulness and brokenness (Isaiah 6), but also wrote so many encouraging truths that have given me life and hope on my journey of faith, like this verse from Isaiah 40:31: “But those who wait on the Lord Shall renew their strength; They shall mount up with wings like eagles, They shall run and not be weary, They shall walk and not faint.”

5.  What is your take on the decline of religious freedom in the US?

I actually live in Canada, your neighbour to the north (that’s why I spell neighbour OUR way – same as favOUR, honOUR, and colOUR). That being said, I’m thankful that (thus far at least anyway), our religious freedoms don’t seem to have declined as much as they have in the US. There is definitely a push for the new brand of tolerance that seems to tolerate every religious, cultural and philosophical thought EXCEPT for Christianity, but for the most part, we still have a lot of our religious freedoms, that I am thankful for!

– Chris Jordan

About Chris Jordan

Husband. Father. Author. Pastor. High School Bible Teacher. Follower of Jesus. And I enjoy a good cup of coffee!
This entry was posted in award and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to My Nomination for the Liebster Blog Award

  1. OK. I’ll accept, if for no other reason than you put so much work into it. Good grief! I thought you just won an award! Why do you have to earn it? Anyway, that’s fine; I’ll comply. However, you’ll have to give me a little time – I don’t normally associate with bloggers who have less that 900 followers 😉

    (not really)

    • Chris Jordan says:

      Thanks Anthony… looking forward to reading your response! And in regards to earning the award, I guess you can consider your post your skill testing question to claim your prize… 🙂

  2. Basically, ditto Anthony.
    Also, I surpassed 300 blogging followers the other day, and I have 871 e-mail subscribers (there maybe a dozen or so overlapped) … so, we should go with that “under 3,000” rule!

    • Chris Jordan says:

      Thanks Daniel… like I said to Anthony, I’m looking forward to your response to the questions as well! Blessings…

Leave a Reply

