I Read Dead People (like Charles Spurgeon and others!)

I Read Dead People

I read dead people.

Charles Spurgeon. John Bunyan. John Calvin. CS Lewis. Arthur Pink. Leonard Ravenhill. AW Tozer. St. Augustine. The list goes on…

All dead. All great authors.

Some pastors. Some preachers. All love Jesus.

I like reading contemporary Christian books as well, but I find there is little that is out there today that has the depth and meatiness of these old dead dudes.

My personal favourite is an old English Baptist Pastor from the 19th century named Charles Spurgeon, nicknamed the Prince of Preachers. I have several dozen of his books, not to mention three large collections of his sermons, including this one:

spurgeon books

Here are two different websites that host transcripts of his sermons:

Charles Spurgeon

Charles Spurgeon:

I just finished reading one of Spurgeon’s sermons called A Great Bargain, which I downloaded from the Spurgeon Gems website. Here are a few quotes that blessed me. May they inspire you as well!

A Great Bargain:

“Again, the kingdom of heaven is like unto a merchant man, seeking goodly pearls: Who, when he had found one pearl of great price, went and sold all that he had, and bought it.” (Matt. 13:45-46).

“Here we have a fit emblem of many who lay hold on Christ and find Him to be their All in All… Seek not only pearls, but seek good pearls. Go in for the good! Yes, cast your soul about to find the best!”

“When a man finds Christ, I cannot tell you how much he values Him, but this I know – all the world besides seems nothing to a Christian when he has once found His Lord and Master!”

“If now you have found Him, who is “the chief among ten thousand” and, “altogether lovely,” and you value Him so that you cannot be happy without Him, He will become, at once, your portion!”

“He sold all that he had… He must have money. Everything must go for that pearl! He is more glad to get rid of his possessions than ever he was to obtain them! Away they shall go at the best price they will fetch, but go they must, for he must have the pearl! Well now, Jesus Christ is to be had, but there is a great deal that a man must give up if he is ever to call Christ his own.”

“And when a man once finds Christ – ah, then he seeks nothing more!”

I want to challenge you – check out some of the great classic Christian literature that’s out there… you will be blessed!

About Chris Jordan

Husband. Father. Author. Pastor. High School Bible Teacher. Follower of Jesus. And I enjoy a good cup of coffee!
This entry was posted in Book and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to I Read Dead People (like Charles Spurgeon and others!)

  1. bryntjones76 says:

    I read dead people, too. I like F.B. Meyer. A friend of Spurgeon, as it turns out.

  2. Mel Wild says:

    I also read a lot “dead people.” More recently, St. Athanasius (“On the Incarnation”), who was the fourth century Eastern equivalent of St. Augustine. Not as well known in the West, but was one of the key leaders in creating the Nicene Creed. Of course, C.S. Lewis and the others mentioned. Add to that, John G. Lake, Smith Wigglesworth, Watchman Nee, and many others. 🙂

    • Chris Jordan says:

      Excellent! I haven’t read St. Athanasius myself, but John G. Lake and Smith Wigglesworth are two other favourites of mine as well…

      • Mel Wild says:

        “On the Incarnation” is a classic in the Eastern church, like “City of God” is to the Western Church. It’s not long but brilliantly written.
        I also forgot to mention A.W. Tozer! One of my favorites.
        I recently read Robert Capon’s book on the parables. He just recently passed away. Of course, none of these people are actually dead! 🙂

      • Chris Jordan says:

        Of COURSE – how could I have forgotten Tozer, or Leonard Ravenhill? I must add them to my list in my blog post. See, so many great dead dudes. And you are right of course, they are not actually ‘dead’… just no longer living with us on earth!! 🙂

  3. Pingback: My Personal Top 10 Posts of 2015-2016 | New Life

Leave a Reply

