The Weekend Funnies – on smoking

I’ll never forget the first year that we moved our family to Beausejour in 2007. My oldest son Caleb was going into grade six, and the only one of our four children who was going to be attending the secondary school in town. As I drove him to school, I noticed a group of delinquent teenagers loitering on the sidewalk in front of the school – smoking cigarettes.

I started to say to him, “Caleb, don’t smoke cigarettes!” and explain how bad they were for his health, but before I got the words out, he said, “Don’t worry, Dad, I won’t ever smoke.” Nine years later, and I’m so thankful that none of my kids have picked up this terrible habit that has so many negative consequences that have devastated so many lives, not the least of which is cancer.

May today’s Calvin and Hobbes comic strip encourage you to never start smoking cigarettes!

clv0525c

clv0525c

Note – if you do struggle with an addiction to smoking cigarettes (or any other addiction or compulsion for that matter), check out the Overcomers Outreach Canada website for valuable resources that can help you to find freedom in Christ!

Calvin & Hobbes (c) 2016 Bill Waterson.

http://overcomersoutreach.ca/

About Chris Jordan

Husband. Father. Author. Pastor. Guidance Counsellor. High School Teacher. Follower of Jesus. And I enjoy a good cup of coffee!
This entry was posted in comic and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to The Weekend Funnies – on smoking

  1. David says:

    As a reformed smoker (I haven’t smoked for 35 years now) I hate the smell of tobacco smoke, even on people’s clothes! Like you Chris I am very grateful that none of our five children have ever been remotely interested in smoking. I can’t believe that I ever did but it was much more culturally acceptable in my day. Joining the Merchant Navy at sixteen didn’t help.

    • Chris Jordan says:

      Thanks for adding your comments to this discussion, David. I meant to tell you that my wife is actually on your side of the pond right now, with her mom and sister! They are in London for two weeks. Any must-see touristy spots for them to check out while they’re there?

      • David says:

        Next week is school half term holiday here Chris (with a Bank Holiday on the Monday) so things may get busy. There is plenty to do in London – museums and galleries I think are free. Walking around Trafalgar Square and down The Mall to Buckingham Palace gives a flavour of the city. As would a walk along the Embankment. None of that costs anything!

        Then there is The Tower of London (pricey). London Eye has to be done (again I think it costs a bit). Madame Tussauds perhaps. Depends what they enjoy doing. The Harry Potter thing at Warner Bros Studio is supposed to be good – public transport will get them there.

        Best and cheapest way to get around is to buy an Oyster Card (buses and underground) and then hand it in to get the price of the card refunded before leaving. I have one that I use when I go down for meetings.

        If they want to venture further afield Oxford might be worth a visit (train direct from Paddington Station). Are they just staying in London?

  2. Chris Jordan says:

    Yes they are just staying in London… they are very close to the London Bridge I believe…

    • David says:

      There are few decent hotels down by London Bridge, so I hope they have a good view of the river. There is a Hillsong Church in London at one of the theatres in the West End. But I would probably head for Holy Trinity Brompton on Sunday.

      Covent Garden might be somewhere else to visit – old market now shopping area.

Leave a Reply

