Reflections with Calvin and Hobbes – Road Trip!

Well, it looks like almost a month has passed since my last ‘weekly’ update. Oops!

Here’s what’s been happening in my life on the rainy west coast lately…

Two weekends ago, I had the opportunity to head out to a Promise Keepers event in Abbotsford, where I led two workshops on the topic of addictions and recovery. This was as a part of my role as the Executive Coordinator for Overcomers Outreach of Canada. Have I told you about this ministry? Overcomers is a Christ-centered 12-step recovery program available to help people overcome addictions and compulsions in their lives.

Then last weekend, I flew back to Manitoba to MC our annual Overcomers Outreach conference at Kilcona Park Alliance Church in Winnipeg. What a joy and a blessing it was to hear so many testimonies of people who have found freedom and victory in their lives through the ministry of Overcomers. Praise the Lord! If you want more info about this exciting ministry that is seeing lives transformed, you can visit our website HERE.

But perhaps the biggest highlight of my trip to Manitoba was going out to Brandon to visit my daughter Victoria, who’s currently in her first year of a music program at Brandon University. Although we Snapchat every day, and FaceTime every once in a while, it was so good to spend some time with her in person, go out for a father/daughter date night, and spoil her with a care package of all kinds of goodies from Walmart!

chris-and-tori

This week, I had the exciting opportunity to speak in three of our Christian school’s chapels about one of my favourite topics: Understanding the Holy Spirit. I talked about how Jesus has given us the gift of the Holy Spirit so we can know Jesus better, become more like Him, and make Him known to others. We looked at Jesus’ promise in Acts 1:8: “But you shall receive POWER after the Holy Spirit has come upon you.” and talked about what it means to be filled with the Holy Spirit, empowered by the Holy Spirit, and some of the different gifts of the Holy Spirit.

austin-rca-worship

Although I am enjoying my new role in guidance counselling and academic advising at Regent Christian Academy, I very much enjoyed being able to teach and minister from God’s Word to our students – one of my passions!

“But my life is worth nothing to me unless I use it for finishing the work assigned me by the Lord Jesus—the work of telling others the Good News about the wonderful grace of God.” (Acts 20:24, NLT).

Anyway, I hope you’re doing well today. To quote Bob and Larry from Veggie Tales, remember: God made you special, and He loves you very much!

calvin-hobbes-death-and-purpose-of-life

Calvin & Hobbes (c) 2016 Bill Waterson.

About Chris Jordan

Husband. Father. Author. Pastor. Guidance Counsellor. High School Teacher. Follower of Jesus. And I enjoy a good cup of coffee!
This entry was posted in blog and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

