Reflections with Calvin & Hobbes – Hope and Dreams

One of the perks of working in a Christian school is our staff devotions in the morning before the school day starts. This morning, one of our teachers shared with us the story of Joseph. He was a dreamer who God had called to be a leader, but from the time the Lord gave Him the dream until the time it came to pass, he went through some very trying and difficult times.

Joseph was betrayed by his brothers, thrown into a pit and sold into slavery. He was lied about, his name was slandered, and he was  thrown into prison for a crime he didn’t commit. Yet, through it all, he maintained his integrity, and in God’s timing, the dream was fulfilled. He became a great leader in the nation of Egypt, and through his wisdom, many lives were saved.

Although I had heard this story many times before, I found great encouragement from it today.

In September this past year, we moved our family back to Surrey, BC. We put our house on the market back in Manitoba, and – over five months later – our home still hasn’t sold yet. So that means we are still making mortgage and utilities payments on our house back in Beausejour, as well as paying rent in a tiny little basement suite here.

The two-bedroom basement suite where our family of five is currently living.

Together. Close. Crowded. Cozy. Cramped.

Half of our stuff is still in storage, so we haven’t fully settled yet.

And so we wait.

But in the waiting, I am encouraged today by this Scripture: “And we know that all things work together for good to those who love God, to those who are the called according to His purpose.” (Romans 8:28).

I don’t know why our house in Manitoba hasn’t sold yet.

But I choose to trust that God is good.

And I’m working on believing that His timing is perfect.

“So when you’re on your knees and answers seem so far away
You’re not alone, stop holding on and just be held
Your world’s not falling apart, it’s falling into place
I’m on the throne, stop holding on and just be held.” (Casting Crowns).

Calvin & Hobbes - epic life change the world

Calvin & Hobbes (c) 2017 Bill Waterson.

About Chris Jordan

Husband. Father. Author. Pastor. High School Bible Teacher. Follower of Jesus. And I enjoy a good cup of coffee!
This entry was posted in comic and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Reflections with Calvin & Hobbes – Hope and Dreams

  1. I pray things are going well for you Pastor Chris. I haven’t commented in a while but I truly thank you for doing me the honor of following my blog. I have one question – can I share this? It’s terrific information! Kari, crosseffectivepublishing@gmail.com
    ps. I started a publishing company, and I would covet your prayers.

    • Chris Jordan says:

      Hello Kari! Yes, please feel free to share any of my posts with those that you think would benefit from them! Praying that the Lord Jesus would bless you as you begin your new publishing company. Amen!

Leave a Reply

