The Twelve Steps – a Spiritual Journey: Step Three: Surrender

The Twelve Steps – a Spiritual Journey: Step Three: Surrender

Our journey to freedom began with the first two steps, admitting, “I can’t!” but “God can!” But that’s just the beginning. From here, we must move from a place of believing that God can help us, to actually inviting Him into the brokenness of our lives and surrendering to His will for us. This is where we say, “I will.” This is step three:

“Made the decision to turn our wills and our lives over to the care of God as we understood Him.”

Jesus Take the Wheel

Step three is about letting go and letting God. There’s a popular song by Carrie Underwood that tells the story of a young mom who’s driving home to see her parents on Christmas Eve. It’s been a hard year for her, she’s got a baby in the backseat of the car, and there’s a blizzard outside. Suddenly, she hits a patch of black ice and starts spinning out of control. What an apt picture of those whose lives have become unmanageable! In this story song, the young woman is so scared she simply throws her hands up in the air (there was nothing she could have done to save herself anyway), and prayed:

“Jesus take the wheel, Take it from my hands, Cause I can’t do this on my own. I’m letting go, So give me one more chance. Save me from this road I’m on, Jesus take the wheel.”

That, my friends, is what surrender looks like. Where we stop trying to be in control of everything. Where we stop pretending to be in control of everything. Where we pray: Jesus take the wheel, and You be in control on my life!

The Biblical basis for this step is found in Proverbs 3:5-6: “Trust in the LORD with all your heart; do not depend on your own understanding. Seek his will in all you do, and he will show you which path to take.” To turn the control of our lives over to God is to say that we trust that His plan for our lives is good, that He is good, and that He cares for us.

“We will not make this decision just once. We will make it every day, many times a day. Deciding to choose our will is a way of death. Deciding to choose God’s will for us is a way of life.” (Meditations for the Twelve Steps – A Spiritual Journey).

Who’s in the driver’s seat in your life? As long as you’re in control, you’re going to make mistakes. But when you choose to let Jesus take the wheel, you can trust that He is good, and that His plan and purpose for your life will lead to joy, peace and freedom!

Third Step Prayer:

“God, I offer myself to you, to build with me and to do with me as you want. Relieve me of the bondage of self, that I may better do your will. Take away my difficulties, that victory over them may bear witness to those I would help of your power, your love, and your way of life. May I do your will always.” Amen! (Prayers for the Twelve Steps – A Spiritual Journey).

Chris Jordan is the President of Overcomers Outreach of Canada.

About Chris Jordan

Husband. Father. #Author. #Blogger. Follower of Jesus. And I enjoy a good cup of coffee!
This entry was posted in Overcomers Outreach and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

